After Giants lose challenge, Pirates win one
Call on Marte's steal stands; McCutchen gets double after call overturned
PITTSBURGH -- Giants manager Bruce Bochy thought that catcher Hector Sanchez's throw beat Pirates outfielder Starling Marte on a stolen-base attempt in the bottom of the third inning during San Francisco's 11-10 win on Monday night. Second-base umpire Gerry Davis ruled Marte safe.
After a challenge and a two-minute, 53-second review, it was ruled that the call should stand.
Marte was stranded at second base as Ike Davis popped out and Tony Sanchez struck out to end the inning with the Pirates leading, 4-2.
The Pirates had better luck with their own challenge two innings later. Andrew McCutchen's liner down the left-field line was ruled foul by third-base umpire Chris Conroy -- even though the ball appeared to kick up chalk from the foul line right at the arbiter's feet.
Pirates manager Clint Hurdle challenged the call, which was overturned on replay review. McCutchen, thus credited with a double, scored soon after on Pedro Alvarez's single, giving the Bucs a 5-2 lead.
Tom Singer is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog Change for a Nickel. He can also be found on Twitter @Tom_Singer. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.