5/18/2014 1:04 A.M. ET
Hicks ruled out at first after Marlins' challenge
Giants second baseman judged to have missed touching bag
By Alex Espinoza / Special to MLB.com
SAN FRANCISCO -- Marlins manager Mike Redmond successfully challenged a ruling that Giants second baseman Brandon Hicks' foot touched the first-base bag while he went for a double in Saturday's 5-0 Miami victory.
With a runner on first and one out against Tom Koehler, Hicks belted the ball down the right-field line. It almost left the ballpark but bounced off the brick wall near the foul pole. Hicks ended up on second and Hector Sanchez stood on third after the play, but then Hicks was ruled out after video review and Sanchez was allowed to stay at third. Brandon Crawford flied out to center to end the inning.
For the year, the Marlins are 8-for-9 on replay challenges under the league's expanded replay system. Staff assistant Pat Shine, responsible for calling video challenges to the dugout, even earned a game ball for his efforts.
"That was unbelievable," Koehler said after tossing seven shutout innings. "In my mind, Pat Shine won the game today. I looked at the replay to see how close it was. Second inning of the game and if you're wrong, you burn your challenge in the second inning. He's been doing a great job all year and that's why he got the game ball today when we came in from the field. That's no joke. He got the game ball."
And though Giants replay assistant Shawon Dunston agreed with the umpires' final ruling, Hicks said otherwise.
"I thought I touched it," Hicks said. "I felt like I did a little bit, but I looked up at the same time. I was trying to find where the ball was at."
It marked the third straight game this series that replay situations have come up in contests. On Thursday, the Marlins wanted to challenge a play where Hunter Pence touched a ball with his foot while running to first base, but were unable to do so due to MLB replay rules. On Friday, the Marlins had a successful challenge on a ball hit to outfielder Giancarlo Stanton, as it was ruled an out even though he bobbled the transfer.
Alex Espinoza is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.